澳门6合开奖结果

AUTO-GUIDE

Is there a way to register cars online in RI for military personnel? | Ask the RI DMV

Chuck Hollis
Special to The Journal

Q: My son-in-law has been in the military for almost 10 years. Rhode Island is designated as his home state. He pays Rhode Island taxes. Every time he is reassigned 鈥 and both his and my daughter's auto registration and inspection are up for renewal 鈥 they must do it in that state. Some states require a yearly inspection as well as annual auto taxes.

Is there a way for both of them to register their cars in Rhode Island online? If so, will the state accept inspections from other states?

鈥 Lisa A.

A: Since Rhode Island is where your son-in-law's and daughter鈥檚 鈥減ermanent home鈥 is located, there is no problem if they remain licensed and their vehicles remain registered in our state. So, until your son鈥檚 military service has concluded, he can certainly keep the vehicle registered at his permanent Rhode Island address.

On our website () we have a tab for 鈥淢ilitary/Veterans鈥 that has a lot of information for active military and veterans.

While a 鈥渘ew registration鈥 cannot totally be completed online, there are some options people have to get their cars registered. First, they can mail in the proper documentation with either a blank check or a CC by mail form, or, as long as the TR-1 form is notarized, a third party can visit the DMV on their behalf with an appointment for 鈥淢oving in from Out of State.鈥

The proper documentation would be their out-of-state title (or copy thereof if there is still a lien on the vehicle); an out-of-state questionnaire (tax form SU-NR-1); a VIN inspection from a RI police station or a VIN inspection from an out-of-state police department that is approved by our enforcement office; a completed TR-1 form; a completed tax exempt or tax form (T333-1 or T334) and a copy of the original bill of sale when they first purchased the vehicle. 澳门6合开奖结果 information on moving a vehicle in from out of state can be found here: .

Finally, the state of Rhode Island does exempt safety and emissions inspections for vehicles kept out of state. If the state in which the vehicle is kept has its own inspection process, the vehicle must be inspected in that state. The approval form must be sent into the RI Safety and Emissions office along with an Out-of-State Vehicle Exemption form on our website here: . If the state does not have an inspection program, only the out-of-state exemption form must be completed.

Upon return of the vehicle to the state of Rhode Island, the vehicle must be inspected within 30 days.

Chuck Hollis

Chuck Hollis is assistant administrator of the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles. Please email your questions to cars@providencejournal.com with 鈥淎sk the DMV鈥 in the subject field.